top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureŠpela

What does it take to write a good story?

Written in 2014

Life. A soul urging to express itself. Empty sheet of paper. Words. Music.


What does it take to write a good story? The story that we can all feel connected with… I was sloppy with my blogs lately… I wrote about things that happened to me, but I did not write how it essentially felt… I said it was hot in the morning when I step on the balcony… But actually it was a bit steamy, not in I can’t breathe kind of way but in a way it makes your skin soft and you can feel the moistly air kissing your nostrils when you breathe in. There were birds singing their usual morning song and there was a man swiping the floor with a broom by the pool. It was a bit misty, the mountains were hiding behind the haze.. I stayed there for a moment and observed the morning.. Then I returned to the room.

I forgot how I used to write down the details which are the ones that matter the most, until tonight when I watched - the book thief movie.

Memory is the scribe of the soul said Aristotel. If your eyes could speak what would they say?

When you think about how precious every moment in your life is you would not rush through the day like a headless chicken without paying attention to the things going on around you. But that is what we do, most of the time.. Rushing, doing things without even feeling them, we do this and that and it’s fine. We take pictures of us in some special places, and then we put them on facebook, so we get to share some part of our life..and create memories, and it’s interesting when we look back on those memories; they always seem more special than they actually were at that moment. I think because later on we finally take time to see the details, the feelings behind the photograph.. Some are real and some we create later.. It’s like when you are nostalgic and you go through an old album of your ex-love and yourself. And in your head you paint a picture of how it was.. But was it really? Or is it all in your head.. Well memories.. they sure are the scribe of our soul.


Sometimes I wander away…just stare into something, ignoring everything around me that just doesn't fit in my world or feel important at that moment, and on those occasions I feel like I'm actually where I'm supposed to be. They say the quiet people have the loudest minds. Don’t try to disturb them with your everyday gibberish. Sometimes things are just not as important as you think they are..


I was thinking today about how fast we change our priorities in life.. One moment are thinking of how you will create a good, happy life for yourself, get a well-paid job you would enjoy doing, and build a plan of how everything is going to be perfect in the future. You do your exercise to keep a toned, fit and sexy body and suddenly you make a wrong movement, which puts you into the position where you can’t move. Every moment you try to move it hurts like hell. So you just lay there all fragile and vulnerable and the only thing that is on your mind at that moment is the pain. You don’t think of the future any more. All you want is to be able to move your body. And you would do everything in order to do that. That happened to me this morning. And actually I am glad it did. Because it reminded me of how silly it is to live in the future if I'm not focusing on the present. And that can happen really fast... It’s true that we only grow trough pain. When everything is all sunshine and rainbows we forget to appreciate what we have.  Of course that does not mean we shouldn't have dreams for the future.. Sometimes dreams and hope are the only things that keeps us moving forward.. But we should not get so caught up in the future that in the process we forget to enjoy the present.


And by enjoying I mean living by the Memnoon Concept which I borrowed from Marshall Rosenberg, meaning; we should only do things, we can do with the joy of a little child feeding a hungry duck. :)

We should not do things from the fear of punishment, or to buy love from someone-hoping that they will love us more if we do so, or to feel guilty or ashamed if we don’t, or from any sense of duty and obligation. Life is too short to live it by any other energy. So don’t be afraid to say no. Or give without expecting to receive something in return. Which remind me of this lady on the market, when we bought some of her produce she just gave us 2 bags of free papaya and did not even look at us after in order to receive a thank you or some sort of acknowledgement that we are thankful, she just rushed forward with her work. :)


And here is little something which can help us not to judge people even in times we are really tempted to:


Don’t make fun of people if you don’t know their story. Don’t think you know everything, because life might just prove you wrong. Don’t always follow the rules, relax. Be aware that we are all just lost souls swimming in a fish bowl.. And that sooner or later everybody dies. And I think that what matters in the end is how much we loved and shared ourelves, how much we helped the world, how compassionate we were to our co-existing brothers and sisters(yes including animals), how much we were using the Memnoon energy. None of those other things make a difference. Love is the strongest thing in the world. So try not to judge and define everyone. First look at yourself and if you think you are perfect look again.. Because when you find out that you are just a human like everybody else and embrace your imperfections.. Then you are one step closer. To what? Does anybody really know? :)


All I want is to feed this hungry duck.

13 views0 comments
bottom of page