top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureŠpela

WOMEN RIGHTS? GAY RIGHTS? BLACK PEOPLE RIGHTS? HUMAN RIGHTS? ANIMAL RIGHTS?

Written in 2014

I woke up this morning and read a comment I’ve got on one of my pictures.. It pushed me to write this blog. I write when I have to share something that is on my mind and I find this really important.

The title is talking about rights… I think many of you already see where I’m going with this blog. It makes me sad that we even need these words. Why are my rights different than yours? Are you a better person than I am? Aren’t we all souls, aren’t we all connected? Because let’s face it, when we die your corpse will not be worth any more than mine. You are not worth more than your neighbor because he is either black, gay, a woman or a dog, and the list goes on..(Tall, short, weird, slutty, stupid, nerd, skinny, fat, show-off, coward,.. – we’ve all been labeled) We can label the whole world if we want to. Everything you stand out with, makes you different, NORMAL does not exist. And what does all that tell you? That there are no different rights, we are all souls, here to experience this life, to learn, to grow and to become better. We all need love, and since it has been deprived to most of us, we should not give up and just surrender. Don’t give in. It starts now – the change is now. Don’t be afraid. I understand that most people who are really hostile towards let’s say gay people, have usually had some feelings towards the same sex as they were growing up, or they still have them, but they were told by society or their parents that this is wrong, that they should be ashamed of themselves. But really ask yourself, who are other people to judge you? Who are they to set the norm of normal? Cause they’ve all been labeled to.. Funny, show me a person that has never been labeled, yet we still live in fear and think we are not worthy to share ourselves because we are different. Everyone has their own fears, which show up in hate and intolerance towards others – but is in its base: self-hate. So I’m sending you some love and telling you that you are not alone. You are just as good as anyone else. Don’t be afraid to be different. We as human beings must realize that all the hate comes from fear. And if you show that person love, you are the winner. LOVE ALWAYS WINS.

Here is one advice how we can cope with fear, which results in hate from other people: So every time you become an object of insult, someone who they label or attack. Never, NEVER take it personally. Because their words have ABSOLUTLY NOTHING to do with whom you are, and has got EVERYTHING to do with who they are. So instead of feeling hurt, feel sorry for them. Try to picture what is going on in their heads. Where are they coming from, maybe they’ve been a target of abuse trough out their life and are craving for love which they’ve never got. Maybe they are so insecure about themselves that the only way they know how to lift themselves up is to put someone else down. There are many, many reasons.. And I know that sometimes they are just too much to tolerate and you want to run them over with a car :D But in that moment you have a choice: Always love; hate will get you every time. Always love, even when you want to fight. Because hate crates more hate, and many times love can save the day. And remember you are not alone; there are others, people all around the world who are standing up for a change. They were always here and they are the ones who are always going to be remembered.  


“There comes a time when one must take a position that is neither safe, nor political, nor popular, but he must take it because his conscience tells him that is right.” – Martin Luther King Jr.


I’ll share an example which I’ve heard in one of Marshall Rosenberg talks on NON - violent communication. He had a son, who had long hair down to his shoulders. And on the first day of school, the boy was walking towards his classroom, and there was a teacher who with absolutely no reason shouted at him: “My, my, look at the little girl? The boys reaction was priceless. Since he was raised right, his reaction when he came home was not self-harmful or feeling bad about his long hair. He told his daddy what happened and how he reacted: “Dad, I remembered what you said, that when you’re in a place like that, never to give them the power to make you submit or rebel.”  How did you handle the situation?” He said: “Dad, I also did what you suggested, that when people are talking to me that way, to try to hear what they’re feeling and needing and not take it personally. Just to try to hear their feelings and needs.” I said, “Wow, am I glad that you thought to do that. What did you hear?” “Dad, it was pretty obvious. I heard that he was irritated and wanted me to cut my hair.” “Oh,” I said, “how did that leave you feeling, to receive his message in that way?” And he said: “Dad, I felt really sad for the man. He was bald, and seemed to have a problem about hair.” 


Pretty cool story. Try to remember it every time you are in a situation like that. People who love themselves will never attack you for no reason; feel sorry for people who are mean and not capable of saying anything nice about anyone. And if you want, help them out, if not then just do yourself a favor and don’t take it personal, keep your chin up ;)


And remember the universe always sends someone. Be the change you want to see in the world. We are not our names or nationalities. We can create a new world. We are not afraid of being different, we refuse to live in a box, and we are willing to stand up for change. We are infinite.


I love you.



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page